• Diesel Students Receive Toolboxes, Scholarships

    • Share:
    December 17, 2018
    A Corinth Holders High student and four current JCC students received scholarships to study diesel mechanics.

    The Eastern Chapter of the North Carolina Transportation Maintenance Council recently awarded toolboxes, tool sets, gift cards, and other prizes valued at more than $17,000 to 29 students in the diesel and heavy equipment technology programs at Johnston Community College and James Sprunt Community College. 

    Also, the council presented a $2,500 scholarship to Benjamin Burchfield, a Corinth Holders High School student. Darius Ferrell of Wendell, Quinten McCain of Four Oaks, and Joshua Williams of Smithfield, current students in the diesel mechanics program at JCC, received a $1,200 scholarship. Ben Coleman of Smithfield was awarded a $500 scholarship in honor of Sherman Graham, a retired diesel instructor at JCC.

    Part of the council's “Tools for Techs” initiative, the tool kits help offset some of the expenses associated with a career as a diesel technician and help make recipients more employable after graduation.

    “Students enrolled in the diesel program need to not only receive a good education to be prepared for their career, they must also invest in the proper tools to be able to perform their job,” said instructor Johnny Green. “The transportation vehicle maintenance industry has confirmed their support in helping these future technicians accomplish their goals through the donations which were awarded. We now have 29 students who are much better prepared to tackle a challenging career, and we very much appreciate the industry support.”

    The students received the toolboxes, tool kits, prizes and scholarships during a ceremony held at JCC on Dec. 11.

    The goal of the NCTMC is to promote professional maintenance practices, new technologies, products and processes to improve maintenance practices and network with suppliers and peers in the industry.

    Cut lines: Benjamin Burchfield, left, a Clayton High School student is the recipient of a $2,500 scholarship to study diesel mechanics at JCC. He is pictured with Donnie Hines, NCTMC president and Luther Daniels, Eastern Chapter NCTMC secretary.

    Quinten McCain of Four Oaks, Darius Ferrell of Wendell, and Joshua Williams are pictured with from left Donnie Hines, NCTMC president and Luther Daniels, Eastern Chapter NCTMC secretary.


    Established in 1969, Johnston Community College is a comprehensive community college within the North Carolina System, offering more than 35 academic programs and numerous continuing education programs, services and opportunities.  The College provides programming through its main campus in Smithfield as well as the Arboretum, Cleveland Center, Rudolph Howell & Son Environmental Learning Center and the Workforce Development Center.  JCC is fully accredited by the Commission of Colleges, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award certificates, diplomas and associate degrees.
    Traci D. Ashley

  • Not a Member? Not a Member?

  • Upcoming Events

    View All Events »