Skip to content

ATHENA International Leadership Award

The ATHENA International Leadership Award is presented to an individual who is recognized for professional excellence, for providing valuable service to their community and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.  The ATHENA Award highlights what Recipients have accomplished in addition to paving a path for future successes.  The award is established through local host organizations in partnership with ATHENA’s national underwriters, local businesses and individual sponsors. By honoring exceptional leaders, the ATHENA Award Program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence.
ATHENA Leadership Award Nominees must meet each of the following three criteria:
  • Demonstrate excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession
  • Provide valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in their community
  • Actively assist women in achieving their full leadership potential

The Triangle East Chamber of Commerce is proud to present this annual award.

Greater Smithfield-Selma Area/Triangle East Chamber of Commerce ATHENA Leadership Award Recipients

1988 Susan B. Lassiter
1989 Catherine Van Sickle
1990 Jean Jerome
1991 Adelaide Brooks
1992 Helen Spence
1993 Barbara Taylor
1994 Barbara Phillips
1995 Donna Creech
1996 Connie Grady
1997 Marvel Dixon
1998 Flora Grantham
1999 Susie Oldham
2000 Carolyn Ennis
2001 Molly Parker
2002 Bonnie Hooks
2003 Kerri Christensen
2004 Ann Game
2005 Cheryl Hunter
2006 April Culver
2007 Jan Barry
2008 Marie Watson
2009 Vickie Shore
2010 Lorine Davis
2011 Rosa Andrews
2012 Joy Callahan
2013 Sherry Harris
2014 Jackie Lacy
2015 Doris Huebner
2016 Crystal Roberts
2017 Angie Lock
2018 Dr. Twyla Wells
2019 Katrusia “Kay” Johnson
2020 Dr. Marilyn Pearson
2021 Melissa Overton
2022 Dana Wooten

2023 Marcia Armstrong